that fashion show…

So, there’s that little thing called the VS Fashion Show tonight that usually sparks a variety of reactions. It’s understandable when you have a slew of attractive women in lingerie stomping down a runway with pop tunes in the background. Reactions land everywhere and in between outrage, love, jealousy, hate, shame, and shade. For me, I enjoy it for the makeup, the flawless wave-curl, and pretending I could rock such extravagant wings. Seriously, I need a pair for no reason at all. Where would I even wear them?

I could get into the whole debate about beauty standards, unattainable goals, and the small percentage of women who naturally look like the angels…and I will. But, only because I think those things are worth mentioning. I’ve said it before, I could never be a kid growing up nowadays. I’m happy I had the 90’s. Those were some good years. Today’s standards of beauty seem so unachievable, even with movements showcasing beauty in all sizes, the idea of ‘thin beauty’ still exists, and can be seen right on the VS stage. It must send a mixed message to a young girl when she sees these gorgeous women, but then hears that they’re ‘not real’.

It’s such a touchy subject because you have so many opinions, fears, and objections thrown around all at once. I was a stick thin girl growing up, always being told I had to put meat on my bones, being accused of having eating disorders (did they not understand my love of cheetos?!), and having to deal with body image troubles. Now, when I sometimes tell my story, I get hit with ‘sooo, you were still thin’ because thin was, and still is, considered desirable. My case does not stand out, nor is it above anyone else’s, but the sad thing is that we all have cases. We have all struggled. Yet, we accuse each other and judge each other, when we’re all really in the same boat. Or sinking ship. Either way, there’s a hole there. We’re basically saying the same things, just in different shapes and sizes. What sucks is that society and media are telling us otherwise. We can’t win.

And it can’t be easy seeing those bronzed beauties glide across our screens. But, maybe we should take a step back, judgment aside, and take it for what it’s worth. There is beauty there. There are real women there.  And those wings.

Leave a Reply

