when you’ve got that big trip coming up…

I’ll attribute my MIA status to a mix of writer’s block, working on my tan so I don’t burn to a crisp in Europe, and claiming to be ‘too busy’ when I’m really just on the couch watching Game of Thrones. And now here we are…in June. How did that happen?

Next month I take my travels to Italy and Greece. I’ve been studying Italian since February. Studying really means listening to podcasts on my way to work and reciting the phrases out loud in my car. You’d be surprised at just how much can stick when you do it on a daily basis. I’m sure once I get over there I’ll get stage fright or something, forget everything I learned, and be that helpless American tourist I don’t want to be. I guarantee my Italian will be loads better than Lizzie McGuire’s. Yes, I recently watched that movie to prepare for my trip. Yes, I now believe I will be discovered as some pop singer’s doppelganger. This is what dreams are made of.

The major thing that I hate about prepping for a big trip is the months long lead up, the planning and studying, all for it to fly by in ten quick days. That’s a lot of build up, but it’s worth it. I plan on writing down as much as I can while I’m over there. But, I usually suck at planning, so I’m not too sure how that will work out. You know when you get those big ideas like ‘I’ll take my ipad and type out blog posts while sitting outside sipping wine and enjoying the view’. I blame instagram and the movies for these exaggerated ideas I have of myself on vacation. Reality will not be as glowy and hefe filtered.

How do you prepare for your big trips?

Leave a Reply

