the youtube generation.

01.15.15

I grew up when the internet was just becoming a thing. I fondly remember the dial up tone while I waited for the little yellow AOL man to run right. I taught myself HTML, and created a few Buffy websites, because I was that girl in middle school. But, times have changed. Teeny boppers will never struggle with trying to use the phone while someone’s ‘online’, or understand that the # symbol wasn’t created by Twitter. One thing that’s really stupid overwhelming, is that these kids videotape (which isn’t even the right word, man my old is showing) record themselves all of the time and then post it for the entire world to see. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my fair share of youtube videos: female comedians, beauty tips, CATS. But, now everyone seems to be trying to get their 15 seconds of internet fame by doing something stupid and sharing it. I’m looking at you, boot in the face train guy.

Sure, there’s a hint of jealousy there. Why did I bother going to college and getting a job for the past twelve years, if I could have quadrupled my salary just by posting videos of me ‘buying’ stuff? Or why should I spend my own money buying products when I could have a review channel and have the companies send me stuff for free? Which by the way, having a ten-year-old giving me makeup tips freaks me out. Mostly because they still have those small child eyebrows that aren’t fully developed so they just end up looking like sad little caterpillars? Is that just my thinking? Do you not pay attention to small child eyebrows?

I guess I’m just that old lady who doesn’t get the youtube generation. I tried taking a video of myself, it’s a weird thing that made me realize my entire face is crooked. Yea, I won’t even get into the cyber bullying these kids now have to deal with when they put themselves out there like that. See the: do you think I’m pretty videos. Can we go back to myspace or when facebook was exclusively for college students?

I should state that it’s not all bad. There are channels out there doing great things, creating change, and other cheese. I love that ‘look up’ video about not staring down at your phone for 24+ hours of your day. But, I guess that’s the beauty of the internet…you can watch what you want to watch, you talk with whoever you want to talk with, and trolls are no longer creepy dolls with jewels for bellybuttons.

Seriously, trolls.

Leave a Reply

