new year, old me…

Well, it’s the beginning of the end to my year of 29. The last year eight months before the ‘big milestone’ of turning thirty. Yup, it hurts to type it because it just seems so old. Especially to someone who considers herself at about a 25. There are things that I’ve done, want to do, and need to do before I enter another decade. Big adult things like buy a house, travel a bit, try different cuisines, get off tinder.

I suppose it shouldn’t be that big of a deal, 30. It’s just another year, it’s not like we can make it stop. We continue on. I’m healthy and happy so I shouldn’t complain, but then that 18 year old voice inside my head is saying ‘remember when you had a ‘plan’ that you would be married by 25 and have a kid and now your turning thirtyyyyy‘. Yea, girl, I remember. But, plans change. Life changes.

Despite the negativity, I’m thinking 30 could be a good time. I mean, I know who I am. I won’t have to deal with shallow people. I’ve ditched most of the ‘friends’ who were toxic. I can handle guys. I can be truthful without it sounding awful because I’m so old and wise now and have all of the answers. Ha. Ok, some of the answers.

I’ll make 30 look good, mostly because I’ll still get IDed at the liquor store. Not to mention I recently got my morning coffee from Tim Horton’s and the lid had a phone number on it.

Oh yea, still got it.

 

2 thoughts on “new year, old me…

  1. I Am A Duncan says:

    Being 30 is just a number as long the heart and mind dont think of it. 30 is the beginning of a lot of great things to come. I have my moments in my 30s and this year I am in my late years. I hope you have a good beginning of a decade. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

