the family example.

05.28.14

Once you’ve been out of college for a while, a few weeks in some cases, certain people may start to hound you about life. First, they’ll ask about the job. Next, it’ll be the significant other. And then before you know it, you’re expected to pop out a small child in the brand new house you bought. Realistically, the family example is just not as commonplace as it used to be. Most of us may still live at home after college. That job that everyone asks about may just be short-term. And that significant other is most likely in the same boat. A sad little vessel trying to stay above water.

What I’m finding now, via facebook obviously, is that some young adults are still trying to do those ‘big’ life things, but end up divorced or broke by the time they’ve reached the mid-end of their 20’s. Honestly, I’ve seen multiple people go from engaged to married to divorced to engaged again all while I can’t even find a guy to consider a second date with. My future cat and I will be just fine, no worries.

Maybe we gave in to family pressure. Maybe we thought starting a family right away was what we were supposed to do. Maybe we thought there were no other options. But, hey we’re millennials. We’re supposed to be entitled, jobless, and difficult… says the people who are on our case all of the time.

Float on, friends. Float on.

4 thoughts on “the family example.

  1. Ola Allam says:

    Great post!
    My parents expected me to be with a full-time job and a ring on my finger the minute I graduated college. Neither of those things happened. I am still alive though.

  2. waneekah says:

    Thank you so much for this post. I come from a brown family ; hence I am expected to graduate from college at 22, get a job and get married by 25. And if I dare to wait till I am 30 , then I am dead and I must have a “problem”. But it goes without saying, that today we are not going to have to give in to peer pressure or family pressure. We are amazing and we know that!

Leave a Reply

