the downtime.

04.02.14

After you graduate college, you find that you have a lot of free time. You’re no longer cramming for tests, pulling all-nighters, or going to multiple parties in one evening. You no longer have a bunch of friends charging into your room at any given time with food and drinks. No, life has slowed down a bit. So much so, that the downtime can be a bit daunting. We’re talking hours upon hours of having nothing to do once the work day ends.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s an awesome feeling at first. Relaxation is plentiful. Stress is at a minimum. But, there are only so many naps you can take in a day. There are only so many shows that you need to catch up on. There are only so many lives on those games with the weird looking candies. Only so many coronaritas you can have on a Taco Tuesday before you get too sleepy.

Sure, I could keep busy by doing things like hitting the gym, reading a few young adult novels, or brushing up on current events, ya know, the obvious choices for a girl who eats all day at her desk and watches movies every chance she gets. Maybe we just need hobbies to keep us busy. Like writing a blog about really random things, or watching a livestream of foster kittens, no? Just me?

 

9 thoughts on “the downtime.

  1. mandirito says:

    Looking at this now, it’s a relief that there will be a moment where I’ll be able to take a full breath and close my eyes after college, but I do understand what you mean. It must be weird, going from your time being fully consumed to having free moments, not cramming for exams, or rushing to get homework done. I liked this article a lot, and I followed you 🙂

    • lowlyscribble says:

      It’s such a great feeling when you get home after completing college, sit on the couch, and realize that you have absolutely nothing to do. You’ll get there soon! 🙂

      • mandirito says:

        Two years-ish, I’ll be there. It’s weird to think about. All those years of schooling that kept you sitting on the edge of your seat, and now you can finally sit back. It’s good that you’re keeping your creativity and literacy up in your down time by blogging though. 🙂 It must be such a relief!

  2. Ola Allam says:

    As an unemployed college graduate, I struggle with this on daily basis. I remember the last day of college and how my friends and I felt weird that we don’t have any papers to finish or projects to be done before a certain deadline. I felt empty and I didn’t know what to do with my time anymore.
    Great post 🙂

  3. Charity says:

    The downtime–oh, the down time…. So much I could potentially be doing, but so little desire to do ANY of it as I drown in the malaise of a diminished social sphere!

Leave a Reply

