the vday.

02.11.14

Is something happening this week? I keep seeing endless amounts of jewelry commercials, shopping aisles lined with candy, and pink everywhere. Ohhh right, it must be time for the vday. You’re probably thinking I’m going for the clichéd single-girl-rant about how awful this day is…and you would be right.

No, not really. Just kidding. Why should one day of the year make single people feel badly about themselves? I feel badly for people in relationships all of the time. While said people are stressing over the perfect gift for their significant other, I’m relaxing in my pajamas. While people are contemplating where to go for a nice (crowded) restaurant for dinner, I’ve already picked the best place for take out. While people are going to be spending lots of money on drinks and champagne, I’m going to be spending lots of money on, well, drinks too.

And, no, I’m not bitter, not at all. Seriously, you can own your singleness and not be a mess on the inside. So, eat your chocolate from your parents, open that vday card from your grandma, and live it up. After all, you can do whatever you want.

2 thoughts on “the vday.

  1. PathBLaughs says:

    If it makes you feel better, my husband and I both sigh (loudly) when we realize it’s vday. It’s like, “UGH. I just called you a dumbass ten seconds ago and now I HAVE to go get you a present??? FML.”

    See? Everyone suffers.

Leave a Reply

