the first date.

11.25.13

If you’re still single in your twenties, the dating scene tends to transform into quite the interview process. And it’s horrible. First dates now consist of serious questions and plans. Instead of playing the ‘what’s your favorite ____’ game, you’re both giving an in depth background of your education, employment, and most favorable traits. Rather than having a fun conversation, you’re discussing where you see yourself in a couple years. Do you like kids? Do you want a dog? Are you financially stable?

In one evening, you’re both trying to figure out whether or not you’ll fit in each other’s lives. That’s a lot to take in for just the first date. But, we’re older now. We may not want to waste our time if we know it just isn’t going to work. We don’t have a lot of time, according to certain family members or friends in relationships. I should just finish my soup, shake hands, and say “thank you, while I believe you have many qualities that would fit this position, I’ll be heading in a different direction”.

Hmm, no wonder people have turned to online dating. I should just check out linkedin profiles and skip the rest. Unless, I want a nice meal of course.

5 thoughts on “the first date.

  1. EuphonicCharity says:

    I enjoy the way you begin each post with a picture containing a quotation. The consistency of design leads me to believe that you make them yourself. May I ask what program you use? In addition to enjoying the content of your posts, I’ve enjoyed scrolling through and just reading the quotations you’ve selected. Great fun ^_^

  2. Feet from Shore says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog today and I’ve been reading some of your posts. I love your quotes and your narrative, you have such a great voice. Being in my 20s too I identify myself with a lot of things you say here. I’m looking forward to reading more from you. Wishing you many adventures ahead!

    This is my blog in case you want to check it out and follow back. Have a great weekend! Yael
    http://feetfromshore.wordpress.com/

    • lowlyscribble says:

      Hi! Thank you so much for your sweet comments and for checking out my little blog! I actually already follow your blog, and your photographs are just stunning. Definitely looking forward to reading more from you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

