the what if.

11.14.13

I don’t know about you, but ever since I graduated college, the second time, I find myself frequently asking the question what if? I suppose when you reach that point where you’ve finished school, and you’re life becomes a monotonous reel of work. sleep, eat, repeat, you start to think about what your life would look like had you just done things a bit differently. Granted, the present isn’t so bad, but the what if?..

I’m not sure why I’m so plagued by that thought. Just the slightest interruption a few years ago could have changed the course. It could have been something I said, or didn’t say. It could have been someone I met, or didn’t meet. It could have been a major event, or just a fluke happening, a rogue action.

If I let them, those thoughts could consume me. How do I know that what I’m doing right now in this very moment is what I was meant to be doing? What if the path changed years ago and I just didn’t realize it? Personally, I do not believe in coincidence. Maybe I have M. Night Shyamalan to blame for that. Signs anyone? Constant questions that have no answers, and can never be answered. How insufferable.

Well played, universe.

Leave a Reply

